Tea Tree Gully District Cricket Club

About our Club

With acknowledgment to Geoff Sando - "Grass Roots  100 Years of Adelaide District Cricket - 1897 -1997"

An early cricket match was recorded between Tea Tree Gully and Houghton in 1854. Although it is unlikely that either of the clubs had a continuous existence, matches occurred among teams representing nearby settlements in later years.  At the turn of the century the town boasted a team of substance and visiting city clubs found Tea Tree Gully a popular resort for holiday matches.  Teams from the area were fielded in the Prospect District Cricket Association after the Second World War but proposals to join the SACA competition did not emerge until around 1970.  Tea Tree Gully served a lengthy apprenticeship in the Adelaide Turf Cricket Association, but within a day of the club winning the ATCA grand final the SACA cricket committee agreed to teams being fielded in B, C, and D grades, as well as Under 23, Under 16 and Under 14 teams.  In 1983-84 Tea Tree Gully replaced Student Teachers in the A grade competition.  Though the going was tough in early years the club has developed into a strong competitor in recent seasons as a result of strong junior teams.  Fittingly the first A grade premiership was won in 1995-96 under captain/coach Martin Faull who had grown up with the club.

Pertaringa Oval:  A former sheep farm which was bought by Tea Tree Gully Council in 1960 to meet the future needs of a developing residential area.  Three arenas were planned to cater for cricket, football, soccer, athletics and other sports.  The entire area slopes significantly from east to west and the creation of level playing areas was a major exercise.  Pertaringa Oval, the main oval, is Tea Tree Gully's home ground for A grade matches, the first of which was against Sturt in October in October 1983.  The adjoining ground, Bulkana Oval, has hosted matches up to B grade level.


Tea Tree Gully C.C. Club Song

Out we come, out we come, out we come to play

Just for recreations sake to pass the time away,

Lots of fun, heaps of fun, enjoy yourselves today,

The Gully boys are hard to beat when they come out to play.

So join in the chorus, and sing it one and all,

Join in the chorus, the Gullies on the ball,

Good old Tea Tree Gully they’re champions you’ll agree

and there’ll be no play in Bombay

There’ll be no play (there’ll be no play)

There’ll be no play (there’ll be no play)

There’ll be no play in old Bombay

When the Gullies win another

There’ll be no play in old Bombay

1st Grade Prem 2017-18

1st Grade Premiers 2017-18

T20 Premiers 2017-18

T20 West End Cup
Premiers 2017-18

3rd Grade Prem 2017-18

3rd Grade (C) Premiers 2017-18

4th Grade Prem

4th Grade Premiers 2016/17

A Grade Prem 2015

Travis Head

Travis Head 

Test Debut:  Australia v Pakistan

 Dubai 7th October 2018

Highlights 2017/18

Travis Head ,Redbacks Captain, Adelaide Strikers Big Bash, Australian T20, Australian One Day Side

Patrick Page  Jnr.  SACA Futures League, SACA Premier Grade Team of the Year

Kyle Brazell SACA Under 17 Representative, CA Under 19 Representative

Zac Worden  SACA Under 17 Representative

Tyrell Sinclair  SA Boomerang’s

Zach Schwarz SACA Under 19 Representative

Sean Nottle  SA Outback’s

Febi MansellSA Female Indigenous Representative, SA Female Outback’s

Josh Macey  SACA Premier Cricket Rising Star Nominee Rd 1

Highlights 2016/17

  • Travis Head. Reddbacks Captain, Adelaide Strikers Big Bash, Australian T20, Australian One Day Side
  • Patrick Page Jnr. State Under 19 Representation, SACA Futures League.
  • Adam Somerfield SACA Premier Cricket Team of the Year.
  • Tyrell Sinclair SACA Under 19 Representative, SACA Boomerangs.
  • Zach SchwarzSACA Under 19 Representative.
  • Ben Hutchinson SACA Outback’s
  • Sean Nottle SACA Outback’s
  • Matthew HerrmannSACA Rising Star Round 13 v Prospect
  • 4th Grade Premiership

Highlights 2015/16

  • Travis Head – Redbacks Captain Adelaide Strikers Big Bash Australian T20 Australian One Day Squad Touring the West Indies
  • Nick Winter – Redbacks Matador Cup Squad,- SACA Futures League, Melbourne Renegades Big Bash
  • Patrick Page Jnr. – Australian Under 19 Selection, State Under 19 Representation, SACA Futures League
  • Tim Evans – SACA Premier Cricket Team of the Year, SACA Futures League
  • Tyrell Sinclair - SACA Under 17 Representative
  • Zach Schwarz - SACA Under 17 Representative
  • Jake Haberfield - SACA Premier Cricket Team of the Year
  • Peter Sleep - SACA Premier Cricket Coach of the Year
  • Past and Present Players that have played First Class and Test Cricket

  • Peter Sleep Redbacks and Aust
  • Peter McIntyre Redbacks and Aust
  • Martin Faull Redbacks
  • Stuart Law Redbacks , Qld and Aust
  • Damien Martyn WA and Aust
  • Gus Logie West Indies
  • B.S.Chandrasekhar India
  • Bob Zadow Redbacks
  • Darren Berry Vic and Redbacks
  • Kelby Pickering Redbacks
  • Damien Reeves Redbacks
  • Ashley Hammond Redbacks
  • Brad Wigney Redbacks
  • Clint Auty WA
  • Matthew Kelton Redbacks
  • Brett Williams Redbacks
  • Garry Chillingworth Redbacks
  • Gary Wright Redbacks
  • Ben Cameron Redbacks
  • Travis Head Redbacks, Aust ODI, Aust T20
  • Jake Haberfield Redbacks
  • Tim Davey Redbacks
  • Nick Winter Redbacks
  • Matt Weaver Redbacks
  • Tim Evans Redbacks
  • Tamara Clapton Scorpions
  • Stephanie Morris Scorpions
  • Anita Silva Scorpions
  • Neisha Isles Scorpions
  • Cara Fiebig Scorpions
  • Tegan McPharlin Scorpions
  • Kiara Stockley Scorpions
  • Club Championships

    2001/2002, 2008/09, 2013/14, 2014/15 and 2015/16

    Club Premierships

  • 1st Grade 1995/96, 2014/15, 2017/18
  • West End Cup 1 Day Cup- 2002, 2003 ,2012, 2013,2014
  • West End T/20 - 007, 2012, 2013,2014, 2018
  • 2nd (B) Grade - 2008/09
  • 3rd Grade (C) - 2017-18
  • 4th (D) Gade – 2014/15, 2016/17
  • U17 Shield - 1994/95, 2001/02, 2002/03, 2012/13
  • Women’s 1st (A) Grade - 2011/12
  • Women’s 1st (A) Grade T/20 - 2011/12
  • Women’s 2nd b(B) Grade - 2008/09
  • Women’s 2nd (B) Grade T/20 - 2008/0
  • Under16 Red  1987/88, 1993/94, 1995/96, 1997/98, 1998/99, 2000/01
  • Under16 White  1988/89, 1993/94, 2001/02, 2008/09, 2013/14, 2014/15
  • U17 Shield  2001/02, 2002/03, 2012/13
  • Under14 Red  1992/93, 1993/94, 1194/95
  • Ray Sutton Shield 2000/01